Sustainable School Recognition Award recipients announced

The Office of Facilities Planning and Construction recently announced that 55 schools have earned the division’s 2016-2017 Sustainable School Recognition Award.

The award recognizes schools that are taking an active role in promoting sustainability initiatives and helping increase student understanding of the balance between social, economic and environmental factors to achieve sustainability.

To be considered for the award, schools had to meet at least three of the following five requirements:

  • Implement a sustainability policy that encourages the use of two-sided printing, pitchers of water in lieu of bottled water at meetings and healthy snacks instead of candy at meetings;
  • Have an active environmental club;
  • Have earned Pearl School or River Star School designation;
  • Have an outdoor teaching garden; and
  • Provide examples of how sustainability is being integrated in to the curriculum.

Congratulations to the following award recipients:

Adult Learning Center
Alanton Elementary
Arrowhead Elementary
Bayside Elementary
Bayside High
Bayside Middle
Brandon Middle
Centerville Elementary
Cooke Elementary
Corporate Landing Elementary
Corporate Landing Middle
Cox High
Creeds Elementary
Dey Elementary
Fairfield Elementary
First Colonial High
Great Neck Middle
Green Run High
Hermitage Elementary
Independence Middle
Kellam High
Kempsville Elementary
Kempsville High
King’s Grant Elementary
Landstown Elementary
Landstown Middle
Linkhorn Park Elementary
Lynnhaven Elementary
Malibu Elementary
North Landing Elementary
Ocean Lakes High
Old Donation School
Parkway Elementary
Pembroke Elementary
Pembroke Meadows Elementary
Plaza Middle
Point O’View Elementary
Princess Anne Elementary
Princess Anne Middle
Red Mill Elementary
Renaissance Academy
Rosemont Forest Elementary
Salem Elementary
Salem High
Salem Middle
Seatack Elementary An Achievable Dream Academy
Shelton Park Elementary
Strawbridge Elementary
Tallwood Elementary
Thoroughgood Elementary
Technical & Career Education Center
Three Oaks Elementary
Virginia Beach Middle
Williams Elementary
Windsor Woods Elementary

The 2016-2017 Sustainable School Recognition Award will be presented to recipients at the division’s Administrators’ Conference in July.

To learn more about the division’s Sustainable Schools program and resources, visit


Tell your friends! FacebooktwittermailFacebooktwittermailFollow us! FacebooktwitteryoutubeinstagramFacebooktwitteryoutubeinstagram


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *